Nanogate AG

As a leading international integrated system provider for high-performance surfaces, Nanogate closes the gap between the producers of basic raw materials and the industrial implementation into products. True to the claim “A world of new surfaces” Nanogate shows the various possibilities for enterprises from different industries for multi-functional surfaces on a basis of new materials.

As a partner in innovation, Nanogate provides many services along the value chain from the development and production of innovative nanocomposites and nanostructured materials to powerful support for innovation and product integration with the company's own production technologies. In the field of nanoparticle synthesis Nanogate draws attention to the following special expertises:

•    Preparation  of oxidic nanoparticles by liquid phase methods, based on sol-gel technology
•    Surface modification of nanoparticles by covering them with optionally inert (hydrophobic) groups or specific chemical functionalities
•    Tailoring of particle size distribution and compounding
•    Compatibilization of particle-matrix-interactions

Especially in hybrid materials the compatibility between filler (nanoparticles) and matrix (binders) is proven as a key aspect to obtain specific material properties. A strategy of the compatibilization is based on the principle of “Interpenetrating Networks” (IPN): A gradual change of the chemical composition of the nanoparticle environment enables the tailor-made solution of the surface from nanoparticles on the respective host matrix.

Nanogate was able to prove their expertise in the area of nanoparticle synthesis for example within the BMBF-project “Nanokon”. The funding policy goals of this project was to systematically identify and evaluate the impact of synthetic nanomaterials on the human health in view of the potential use in medical diagnosis. Within the overall project Nanogate worked on the development of core- shell particles with barium sulfate and iron oxide as cores and their characterization by using physico-chemical methods. To examine the specific toxic consequences of nanoparticles within the gastrointestinal tract these nanoparticles have been modified with different shells.

Nanogate AG

Als Systemhaus für Hochleistungsoberflächen schließt Nanogate die  Lücke zwischen den Produzenten von Ausgangsstoffen und der industriellen Umsetzung in Produkte. Getreu dem Claim „A world of new surfaces“ erschließt Nanogate für Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten, die sich aus multifunktionalen Oberflächen auf Basis neuer Materialien ergeben.

Als Innovationspartner bietet Nanogate zahlreiche Leistungen: von der Entwicklung und Produktion innovativer Nanokomposite und Nanoformulierungen bis zu umfassender Produkt- und Prozessintegration mit eigenen Produktionstechnologien.
Auf dem Gebiet der Nanopartikelsynthese weist Nanogate folgende Expertise auf:
• Herstellung oxidischer Nanopartikel aus flüssiger Phase auf Basis der Sol-Gel-Technologie
• Oberflächenmodifizierung von Nanopartikeln durch Einführen von   wahlweise inerten (hydrophoben) Gruppen oder spezifischer chemischer Funktionalitäten
• Gezielte Steuerung von Partikelgröße und -zusammensetzung
• Kompatibilisierung von Partikel-Matrix-Wechselwirkungen

Gerade in Hybridwerkstoffen erweist sich die Kompatibilität zwischen Füllstoff (Nanopartikel) und Matrix (Bindemittel) als Schlüsselaspekt zur Erzielung spezifischer Werkstoffeigenschaften. Eine Strategie der Kompatibilisierung beruht auf dem Prinzip des „Interpenetrating Networks“ (IPN): eine graduelle Änderung der chemischen Zusammensetzung der Nanopartikel-Umgebung ermöglicht die maßgeschneiderte Anpassung der Oberfläche von Nanopartikeln an die jeweilige Wirtsmatrix.

Nanogate konnte seine Expertise auf dem Gebiet der Nanopartikelsynthese zum Beispiel im BMBF-Projekt „Nanokon“ unter Beweis stellen. Förderpolitisches Ziel dieses Vorhabens war es, gesundheitliche Auswirkungen synthetischer Nanomaterialien auf den Menschen, vor dem Hintergrund ihrer potentiellen Anwendung in der medizinischen Diagnostik, systematisch zu identifizieren und zu bewerten. Im Rahmen dieses Gesamtvorhabens bearbeitete Nanogate die Herstellung von Kern-Hülle-Teilchen mit Kernen aus Bariumsulfat und Eisenoxid und deren Charakterisierung mittels physikalisch-chemischer Methoden. Zur Untersuchung der spezifischen toxikologischen Folgen der Existenz von Nanopartikeln im Magen-Darm-Trakt wurden diese mit unterschiedlichen Hüllen modifiziert.